First Article from my Internship

Hey everyone, I know I was supposed to have something up on Mondays from now on, but things have been a bit hectic.

I will be trying to put things up on Mondays and Fridays consistently since that makes things easier for everyone, but it’s a bit hard to do that at the moment.

I’ve started an internship at the Khmer Times Newspaper and I’ll be working here until the 15th of July. I’ll try to not let that get in the way of posting regular updates on the blog, and I will definitely be trying to put out the same type of content on the scheduled days as normal, however it goes without saying that I can’t promise anything.

I’m enjoying my time working at the newspaper. Although I somewhat dreaded having to wake up before noon during the summer (I know, what hardships I must endure), I was pleasantly surprised how only an hour makes a difference. It’s so much easier getting up at seven rather than getting up at six. One’s tolerable, and the other’s just absolute Hell. Schools should take note.

The office is nice and everyone is really great to work with. Everyone here is really approachable and they’re willing to help, no matter what it is. I will say that the working environment it is a far cry from what I’m used to in classes. For one, everyone works and gets things done on time. Good luck finding that in high school. There is the issue of what I’m supposed to do for lunch, since I can’t feasibly have lunch at restaurants everyday–God knows I’d love to do that–but I’ll figure something out.

Anyways, if you’re interested about reading what I’m putting up on the Khmer Times during my stint there, you can check them out at khmertimeskh.com.

I’ve also put up my first article there about China’s Belt & Road Initiative. You can check that out here.

Thanks for reading, and I hope you like what I put out.

-S. 

Leave a Reply

